CNET: “You turned off location history on your Google account, so now your Google apps can’t track you, right? Not exactly. While disabling that setting sounds like a one-and-done, some Google apps are still storing your location data. Merely opening the Google Maps app or using Google on any platform for a search logs your location down to the square foot with a time stamp, according to an investigation from the Associated Press. Turning off location history only removes where you’ve been from the Google Maps Timeline feature, which logs your location with certain data at a specific time. Google’s support page on the matter is confusing. It says that even when turned off, “some location data may continue to be saved in other settings,” like your web and app activity. (We reached out to Google for more information and will update this story when we hear back.) But if you take a few more steps, you can stop Google from knowing where you are 24/7…”
Sorry, comments are closed for this post.